见解 |中国首份ESG披露指引

请求 ESG 软件演示

电子邮件必须正确格式化
感谢您对 Seneca ESG 的关注。我们将尽快与您联系。

见解 |中国首份ESG披露指引

分享这篇文章

随着全球越来越多的企业采用 ESG 标准进行非财务信息披露,中国企业在市场竞争中迫切需要迎头赶上,对高质量 ESG 数据的需求不断增加。许多全球公认和最流行的标准,如 GRI 和 SASB,都是在西方背景下制定的。随着越来越多的中国公司参与 ESG 披露,对更符合中国商业和监管环境的 ESG 标准的需求变得越来越明显。为增强中国的 ESG 生态系统并为国内企业提供适合当地情况的框架,中国企业改革发展研究会 (CERDS) 与来自中国领先研究机构和企业的专家一起发起了该项目,以创建 企业 ESG 披露指南 (“企业 ESG 披露指南”,以下简称“指南”)。 《指导意见》于2022年4月16日正式发布,自2022年6月1日起实施。

《指引》的发布是中国ESG发展的里程碑,是首个本土制定的企业ESG披露标准。本报告将着眼于指南的内容,并了解其在中国背景下对 ESG 的解释。

指南中的 ESG 指标

《指导意见》共列出了118个指标,涵盖环境、社会和治理3个一级指标下的35个三级指标和10个二级指标。指南中的指标概述如下。

资料来源:由 Seneca ESG 从指南中编制

在环境指标方面,《指南》要求披露具体的量化数据,如温室气体排放清单、废水和废气污染物排放清单等。对于以前没有参与环境报告的公司来说,这可能具有挑战性,并且需要专业环境监测和数据跟踪机构的帮助。该指南还要求披露范围 1、2 和 3 的温室气体排放,这意味着它要求企业不仅要评估其运营和电力消耗的排放,还要评估整个企业价值链产生的排放,例如使用产品、上下游运输配送、供应链排放。对于社会指标,该指南中值得注意的亮点包括对员工心理健康援助、晋升评估体系和供应商 ESG 绩效的定性和定量描述。在治理方面,该指南非常强调监管合规性,并参考了《个人信息保护法》和《数据安全法》等国家法律。它还包括气候变化带来的物理和过渡风险以及风险管理指标中的数字化转型风险。

该指南旨在为中国所有行业提供一个通用框架,并没有具体说明报告企业的特征。企业可以每年或他们认为合适的任何周期进行披露。最终交付成果应为官方 ESG 报告,供监管机构、投资者、第三方评级机构、媒体、公众和报告公司本身参考。

适应中国语境

《指南》在借鉴国际最佳实践的同时,大量参考了中国现行的与ESG问题相关的最新标准、法律和法规,例如国家劳动法、环境保护法和安全生产法。此外,《指南》中的定义也取自中国官方国家标准,即一套GB和GB/T标准,分别代表强制性标准和推荐性标准。参考 ISO 标准来填补中国标准的剩余空白,即关于适应气候变化的 ISO 14090:2019 和关于合规管理体系的 ISO 37301:2021。因此,最终产品是一套符合国家现有监管框架的 ESG 指标。

与全球应用的 ESG 框架相比,该指南在中国背景下对 ESG 问题进行了补充和调整。例如,“员工保护”社会指标评估员工参加职工代表大会(中国公共企业的一种劳工组织形式)的机会,以及社保和住房公积金的权利。公积金,是中国社会福利制度的独特之处。指南中的另一个地方属性是在“社会”主要指标下纳入“公民义务”,该指标评估报告公司的慈善活动、对国家指令的响应以及公共危机下的行动。更具体地说,Civil Duty 指标评估企业对乡村振兴、创新发展、共同富裕等中国国家战略的反应。因此,《指南》区别于其他全球标准,承认中国企业在中国社会结构中的不可或缺的作用,以及它们响应中国国家发展需求的责任和动机。

从本质上讲,虽然 ESG 披露通常是为了评估公司在 ESG 问题上的潜在财务影响和价值,但它也应该有助于公司了解其当前业绩与公众对环境积极因素的期望之间的差距,具有社会责任感和治理良好的企业。该指南为中国企业提供了以他们熟悉的语言探索这一差距的机会。随着中国公司开始在 ESG 披露中尝试国际 ESG 标准和当地制定的指南并提供反馈,他们的反馈将继续促进中国 ESG 发展与世界其他地区的联系,为调整提供更多机会中国企业与全球市场的关系。

资料来源:

企业 ESG 披露指南 (T/CERDS 2-2022)

https://www.cerds.cn/site/content/8237.html

http://www.eeo.com.cn/2022/0419/530790.shtml

https://finance.sina.com.cn/esg/investment/2021-11-19/doc-iktzscyy6357991.shtml?cre=tianyi&mod=pcpager_news&loc=36&r=0&rfunc=17&tj=cxvertical_pc_pager_news&tr=174&wm=2226_0129

https://ghgprotocol.org/standards/scope-3-standard

继续阅读 →

相关文章



zh_CN简体中文

INSIGHTS | China’s First ESG Disclosure Guidance

Get the latest APAC ESG insights straight to your inbox

Email must be formatted correctly

Contact Us
  • Twitter

  • Linkedin

  • INSIGHTS | China’s First ESG Disclosure Guidance

    Share this article

    As more enterprises around the world adopt ESG standards for non-financial information disclosure, Chinese enterprises face a pressing need to catch up as they compete in markets with rising demand for quality ESG data. Many globally recognized and most prevalent standards, such as the GRI and SASB, had been developed under a Western context. As more Chinese companies take part in ESG disclosures, the need for a ESG standard that is more compatible with China’s business and regulatory environment becomes apparent. To enhance China’s ESG ecosystem and offer a locally adapted framework for domestic companies, the China Enterprise Reform and Development Society (CERDS) initiated the project along with experts from China’s leading research institutions and corporations to create the Guidance for Enterprise ESG Disclosure (“企业ESG披露指南”, hereinafter referred to as “the Guidance”). The Guidance was officially published on April 16, 2022, and will take effect on June 1, 2022.

    The launch of the Guidance is a landmark in China’s ESG development, as it is the first locally developed corporate ESG disclosure standard. This report will look at the content of the Guidance and understand its interpretation of ESG in the Chinese context.

    ESG metrics in the Guidance

    The Guidance listed a total of 118 metrics, spanning 35 tertiary indicators and 10 secondary indicators under the 3 primary indicators of environmental, social, and governance. An overview of metrics in the Guidance is presented below.

    Source: Compiled by Seneca ESG from the Guidance

    In terms of environmental metrics, the Guidance requests the disclosure of specific quantitative data, such as emission of a list of greenhouse gases and emission of a list of wastewater and waste gas pollutants. This may prove challenging for companies with no previous engagement in environmental reporting and will require assistance from professional environmental monitoring and data tracking agencies. The Guidance also requests the disclosure of scope 1, 2, and 3 greenhouse gas emissions, meaning it requires companies to not only assess their emissions from operations and power consumption, but also those resulting from the entire corporate value chain, such as the use of products, upstream and downstream transportation and distribution, and supply chain emissions. For social metrics, notable highlights in the Guidance include qualitative and quantitative descriptions of mental health assistance for employees, promotion evaluation system, and the ESG performance of suppliers. For governance, the Guidance places heavy emphasis on regulatory compliance with references to national laws, such as the Personal Information Protection Law and Data Security Law. It also includes both physical and transitional risks from climate change as well as digital transformation risks in its metric on risk management.

    The Guidance is meant to be a general framework for all industries in China, with no specification on the reporting enterprise’s characteristics. Enterprises can disclose on a yearly basis, or whatever cycle they deem fit. The final deliverable should be an official ESG report available for the reference of regulatory bodies, investors, third-party rating agencies, media, the general public, and the reporting company itself.

    Adaptations to the Chinese Context

    While the Guidance draws inspiration from international best practices, it heavily references the latest existing Chinese standards, laws, and regulations related ESG issues, such as the country’s labor law, environmental protection law, and production safety law. In addition, definitions within the Guidance are also adopted from official Chinese national standards, namely a set of GB and GB/T standards which stand for mandatory standards and recommended standards, respectively. ISO standards are referenced to fill the remaining gaps in Chinese standards, namely the ISO 14090:2019 on adaptation to climate change, and ISO 37301:2021 on compliance management systems. As a result, the final product is a set of ESG metrics coherent with the country’s existing regulatory framework.

    Compared to globally applied ESG frameworks, the Guidance notably offers additions and adjustments to ESG issues within the Chinese context. For example, the social metric of “Employee Protection” assesses employees’ opportunity to participate in workers’ conference (职工代表大会), a form of labor organization in China’s public enterprises, as well as entitlement to social security (社保) and housing provident fund (公积金), unique features in China’s social welfare system. Another local attribute in the Guidance is the inclusion of “Civil Duty” under the “Social” primary indicator, which assesses the reporting company’s charitable activities, responses to national directives, and action under public crisis. More specifically, the Civil Duty metric evaluates a company’s response to Chinese national strategies such as rural revitalization, innovation development, and common prosperity. Therefore, the Guidance differs from other global standards by recognizing the integral roles of Chinese enterprises as part of China’s social fabric and their responsibilities and motivations in response to China’s national development needs.

    In essence, while ESG disclosure is commonly conducted to assess the potential financial impacts and values of companies regarding ESG issues, it should also serve as a beneficial exercise for companies to understand the gap between their current performance and the public’s expectation of an environmentally positive, socially responsible, and well-governed enterprise. The Guidance offers Chinese enterprises an opportunity to explore this gap in a language with which they are familiar. As Chinese companies begin to experiment with both international ESG standards and the locally developed Guidance in their ESG disclosure and provide feedback, their feedback will continue to foster the connection between China’s ESG development and that of the rest of the world, opening more opportunities for alignment between Chinese enterprises and the global market.

    Sources:

    Guidance for Enterprise ESG Disclosure (T/CERDS 2-2022)

    https://www.cerds.cn/site/content/8237.html

    http://www.eeo.com.cn/2022/0419/530790.shtml

    https://finance.sina.com.cn/esg/investment/2021-11-19/doc-iktzscyy6357991.shtml?cre=tianyi&mod=pcpager_news&loc=36&r=0&rfunc=17&tj=cxvertical_pc_pager_news&tr=174&wm=2226_0129

    https://ghgprotocol.org/standards/scope-3-standard

    en_USEnglish