中国的绿色农业:监管者的简要概述和建议

请求 ESG 软件演示

电子邮件必须正确格式化
感谢您对 Seneca ESG 的关注。我们将尽快与您联系。

中国的绿色农业:监管者的简要概述和建议

分享这篇文章

近年来,中国一直在加快农业发展,以第一产业,农业活动为主,2019年总价值达到7.0467tr人民币,比上年增长3.1%。实际上,该行业在同一年为中国的GDP贡献了约7.1%。此外,农业和农村事务部(MARA)发展规划部主任魏白刚透露,自2010年以来,中国的人均粮食占有量在2019年达到470公斤。这超过了联合国粮食及农业组织(FAO)标准,每年400公斤,以使该地区有资格获得食品安全。

但是,诸如过度耕种,低生产率等早期实践牺牲了该部门的环境保护,以寻求经济增长和农业的强劲发展。这些做法挑战了行业的可持续发展。传统农业涉及大量使用大型机械和化肥,消耗大量不可再生能源。这种模式导致了中国农村地区严重的环境问题,包括植被退化,荒漠化,水污染等。2017年,生态环境部发布了第二次全国污染源普查结果。尽管结果表明,包括化学需氧量(COD)和氮在内的水污染物排放量与十年前相比分别下降了46%和34%,但是农业活动造成的污染仍然占了很大一部分。化学需氧量和氮分别占总量的49.77%和22.44%。

中国监管机构发布了一系列加快绿色农业发展的政策

绿色农业旨在以可持续的方式促进发展。这种农业采用节能技术来种植高质量的粮食作物。它还旨在满足公众对更健康,更绿色的耕作方式的需求,并减轻农业活动对环境的负面影响。

中国政府一直在努力促进绿色农业。自政府在黑龙江省启动首个试点发展基地以来,中国现已在内地形成了592个此类基地,以扩大和稳定该产业的发展。此外,中国高层决策者一直在强调这种以绿色为导向的发展方式,并优先发展以技术为基础的农业现代化。具体而言,监管机构希望在传统模式下实现资源节约,避免高昂的资本消耗和过多的耕地开发。

因此,这要求科技创新在提高农业生产力,资源利用效率,生态保护和恢复,有效预防和控制农业源污染等方面发挥更加积极的作用。2018年7月,中国农业部农村事务部(MoA)发布了绿色农业技术开发指南。该指南旨在建立一个以可持续性为驱动力的技术体系,以促进农业现代化,并强调生产效率,产品安全,资源节约,环境保护等。例如,该指南鼓励研究和应用各种技术和机械来回收农业废料,污染控制,提高产量等。

同时,该国在绿色农业发展方面也不断取得进展。先前提到的第二次污染源国家普查表明,与十年前相比,尽管产量增加,但各种农业污染源的数量在2017年都下降了。例如,从2007年到2017年,中国的谷物产量从5亿吨增加到6.6亿吨,而农业部门的化学需氧量和总氮排放分别下降了19%和48%。

绿色农业创造经济价值

此外,提高对食品安全的认识推动了国内对优质农产品的需求。研究服务提供商Newsijie.cn估计,2011年中国环保食品市场规模为3200亿元人民币,到2018年将增长至5250亿元人民币,年均复合增长率(CAGR)为7.8%。中国绿色食品发展中心还报告说,2018年国内环保食品的销售额达到4,557亿元人民币,2019年达到4656.6亿元人民币。生产有机和环保食品的绿色农业产业为城市消费者提供了更多选择,并产生了更多经济价值。这也使城市居民能够通过扩大贫困地区的产品销售来参与有针对性的消除贫困。

中国监管机构将需要考虑补贴政策和技术创新,以进一步发展国内绿色农业

绿色农业旨在改善当地的环境状况,要求农民转向可持续的生产方式,以节省资源并实现环境友好。在此类项目的早期阶段,这通常需要大量的资本投资,这可能会成为低收入农民的经济负担。在没有有利的绿色农业政策的情况下,这些人往往会在短期内寻求利润,因此很可能会避免从事更环保的生产。因此,中国监管机构一直在努力改善农业补贴体系,以鼓励更多的人参与该行业。例如,中国财政部和农业部于2016年发布了一项改革计划,敦促在2020年建立补贴制度,以促进农村地区充足的粮食供应,创收和生态系统保护。

另外,农业部门生产成本的增加需要更有效的生产工具。根据中国农业科学院(CAAS)今年6月发布的关于中国农业的报告,该行业的生产成本在2015年迅速增长,这使得国内种植的产品与进口产品的竞争力降低。中国商务部报告称,农业贸易逆差在2018年激增至712.8亿美元,在2005年激增至14.6亿美元。CAAS得出结论,农业技术开发不足,部分导致了中国农业竞争力的下降。具体而言,2016年中国农业科技研究支出仅占第一产业GDP的0.76%。因此,为了保持农业可持续性,需要增加研究投资来支持农业技术创新。中国政府还将鼓励绿色技术的应用,例如清洁技术。此类技术将用于提高资源循环利用的效率,并升级效率低且污染输出高的传统生产系统。

资料来源:

https://www.iimedia.cn/c1020/70696.html

http://www.ce.cn/cysc/sp/info/202006/19/t20200619_35164179.shtml

http://www.jwview.com/jingwei/html/04-04/308727.shtml

https://news.pku.edu.cn/mtbdnew/c343c616783c40c3b14d90a795db0325.htm

http://www.xinhuanet.com/energy/2020-06/18/c_1126128378.htm

http://www.xml-data.org/XNSYDXXBSKB/HTML/2014-1-46.htm

http://www.fx361.com/page/2020/0317/6447576.shtml

http://www.gov.cn/gongbao/content/2018/content_5350058.htm

http://www.moa.gov.cn/ztzl/nylsfz/xwbd_lsfz/201705/t20170511_5603586.htm

http://www.xinhuanet.com/food/2020-06/05/c_1126078994.htm

http://www.eco-aisa.org/index/view/catid/3/id/132.html

https://m.huaon.com/detail/645556.html

http://www.newsijie.com/chanye/nongye/jujiao/2019/0521/11247956.html

http://www.cssn.cn/skjj/skjj_jjgl/skjj_xmcg/201810/t20181031_4766898.shtml

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/337116343_tanjiulusenongyezhongzhijishudegainianjituiguangduicehttp://www.qstheory.cn/llwx/2020-05/06/c_1125947130.htm

https://doc.mbalib.com/view/5ea41d1a070cd05e99f11913635251cd.html

http://iaed.caas.cn/docs/2020-06/20200605102008307704.pdf

http://www.gov.cn/gongbao/content/2018/content_5350058.htm

继续阅读 →

相关文章



zh_CN简体中文

China’s Green Agriculture: Brief Overview and Recommendations to Regulators

Get the latest APAC ESG insights straight to your inbox

Email must be formatted correctly

Contact Us
  • Twitter

  • Linkedin

  • China’s Green Agriculture: Brief Overview and Recommendations to Regulators

    Share this article

    China has been accelerating agricultural development in recent years, with the country’s primary sector, agricultural activities, recording a total of RMB7.0467tr in value in 2019, up 3.1% from the previous year. In fact, the sector contributed about 7.1% to China’s GDP in the same year. Additionally, Wei Baigang, director of the Development Planning Department of the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs (MARA), disclosed that, since 2010, China’s grain possession per capita hit 470kg in 2019. This surpassed the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nation’s (FAO) standard at 400kg per year in order for a region to qualify as attaining food security.

    However, early practices such as over-farming with low productivity have sacrificed environmental protection in the sector in the effort to seek economic growth and robust development of agriculture. Such practices have challenged the industry’s sustainable development. Traditional agriculture, which involves excessive use of large machinery and chemical fertilizers, consumes a large amount of non-renewable energy. Such models have resulted in significant environmental issues in China’s rural areas include vegetation degradation, desertification, water pollution, etc. In 2017, the Ministry of Ecology and Environment (MEE) published results of a second national census on pollution sources across the country. Although the results showed emitted amounts of water pollutants including chemical oxygen demand (COD) and nitrogen dropped by 46% and 34% respectively from a decade ago, the amount of pollution from agricultural activities still made up a large portion of the pollutants. COD and nitrogen made up 49.77% and 22.44%, respectively, of the total.

    Chinese regulators have issued a series of policies to accelerate green agriculture development

    Green agriculture aims to boost development in a sustainable manner. This type of agriculture employs energy-efficient technologies to grow high-quality food crops. It is also designed to meet the public’s demand for more healthy and greener farming practices as well as to mitigate the negative impacts of agricultural activities on the environment.

    The Chinese government has made continued efforts to boost green agriculture. Since the government launched the first pilot development base in Heilongjiang province, the country has now formed 592 bases of this kind in the Mainland to scale and stabilize development in this industry. Additionally, top Chinese policymakers have been emphasizing such a green-oriented development style, and prioritizes boosting technology-based modernization of agriculture. Specifically, regulators are looking to achieve resource conservation and to avoid high capital consumption and excessive exploration of farmland under the traditional model.

    This consequently requires science and technological innovation to play a more active role in the improvement of agricultural productivity, resource utilization efficiency, ecological conservation and restoration, effective prevention and control of agriculture-sourced pollution, etc. Earlier in July 2018, China’s Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs (MoA) released guidelines for technical development of green agriculture. The guidance aims to build a sustainability-driven technical system to boost agricultural modernization and stresses production efficiency, product safety, resource-saving, environment protection, and so on. For instance, the guidance encourages research and application of various technologies and machinery for recycling agricultural waste, pollution control, output enhancement, etc.

    Meanwhile, the country is also seeing continued progress in green agriculture development. The previously mentioned second national census on pollution sources indicated that, as compared to a decade ago, the amounts of various agriculture-sourced pollution all dropped in 2017 despite increased production. For instance, from 2007 to 2017, China’s grain output rose from 500m tons to 660m tons while COD and total nitrogen emissions in the agricultural sector declined by 19% and 48%, respectively.

    Green agriculture generates economic value

    Furthermore, enhancing awareness of food safety has pushed up domestic demand for high-quality agricultural products. Research services provider Newsijie.cn estimated that China’s eco-friendly food market in 2011 had a market size of RMB320bn and grew to RMB525bn in 2018 at a compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 7.8%. China Green Food Development Center also reported that the domestic sales volume of eco-friendly food reached RMB455.7bn in 2018 and RMB465.66bn in 2019. The green agricultural industry that produces organic and environmentally friendly food offers more options to urban consumers and generates more economic value. This also enables urban citizens to participate in targeted poverty elimination by expanding the sales of products from poor areas.

    Chinese regulators will need to consider subsidy policy and technological innovation in order to further develop domestic green agriculture

    Green agriculture aims to improve the local environmental situation, requiring farmers to turn to sustainable production practices that save on resources and are environmentally friendly. This often requires extensive capital investment in the early stage of such projects, which could become a financial burden for low-income farmers. Such individuals tend to seek profit in the short-term in the absence of favorable green agriculture policies, and consequently will likely refrain from engaging in more eco-friendly production. Therefore, Chinese regulators have been working to improve the agriculture subsidy system to encourage more participation in the industry. For instance, China’s Ministry of Finance (MoF) and MoA issued a reform plan in 2016, urging for the establishment of a subsidy system in 2020 that facilitates adequate food supply, income generation, and ecosystem protection in rural areas.

    Additionally, the increased production cost in the agricultural sector requires more efficient production tools. According to a report released by the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS) this June on China’s agriculture industry, the production cost in the sector grew rapidly in 2015, making domestically grown products less competitive with imported goods. China’s Ministry of Commerce reported that the agricultural trade deficit surged to USD71.28bn in 2018 and USD1.46bn in 2005. CAAS concluded that inadequately developed agricultural technologies partially resulted in declined agricultural competitiveness in China. Specifically, China’s research expenditure in agricultural tech only made up 0.76% of the primary industry’s GDP in 2016. Hence, increases in research investment are required to support agricultural technical innovation in order to maintain industrial sustainability. The Chinese government will also encourage application of green technologies, such as clean tech. Such technology will be used to increase the efficiency of resource recycling and to upgrade traditional production systems that are low in efficiency and high in pollution output.

    Sources:

    https://www.iimedia.cn/c1020/70696.html

    http://www.ce.cn/cysc/sp/info/202006/19/t20200619_35164179.shtml

    http://www.jwview.com/jingwei/html/04-04/308727.shtml

    https://news.pku.edu.cn/mtbdnew/c343c616783c40c3b14d90a795db0325.htm

    http://www.xinhuanet.com/energy/2020-06/18/c_1126128378.htm

    http://www.xml-data.org/XNSYDXXBSKB/HTML/2014-1-46.htm

    http://www.fx361.com/page/2020/0317/6447576.shtml

    http://www.gov.cn/gongbao/content/2018/content_5350058.htm

    http://www.moa.gov.cn/ztzl/nylsfz/xwbd_lsfz/201705/t20170511_5603586.htm

    http://www.xinhuanet.com/food/2020-06/05/c_1126078994.htm

    http://www.eco-aisa.org/index/view/catid/3/id/132.html

    https://m.huaon.com/detail/645556.html

    http://www.newsijie.com/chanye/nongye/jujiao/2019/0521/11247956.html

    http://www.cssn.cn/skjj/skjj_jjgl/skjj_xmcg/201810/t20181031_4766898.shtml

    https://www.researchgate.net/publication/337116343_tanjiulusenongyezhongzhijishudegainianjituiguangduicehttp://www.qstheory.cn/llwx/2020-05/06/c_1125947130.htm

    https://doc.mbalib.com/view/5ea41d1a070cd05e99f11913635251cd.html

    http://iaed.caas.cn/docs/2020-06/20200605102008307704.pdf

    http://www.gov.cn/gongbao/content/2018/content_5350058.htm

    To Continue Reading →

    RELATED ARTICLES



    en_USEnglish