澳大利亚反垄断监管机构呼吁制定新法律以遏制谷歌的主导地位

订阅邮件获取亚太区最新ESG资讯

电子邮件必须正确格式化

联系我们
  • 推特

  • 领英

  • 澳大利亚反垄断监管机构呼吁制定新法律以遏制谷歌的主导地位

    分享这篇文章

    据美国广播公司新闻9月29日报道,反垄断机构澳大利亚竞争和消费者委员会(ACCC)指出,谷歌在澳大利亚广告供应链中占据主导地位,这损害了出版商、广告商和消费者的利益。ACCC指控谷歌滥用其第一- 方数据,以促进广告服务并防止自身参与广告技术竞争。第一方数据是指谷歌通过用户使用谷歌产品(如 YouTube 和谷歌浏览器)从用户那里收集的信息。因此,澳大利亚监管机构呼吁制定更严格的数据使用规则,禁止谷歌等科技巨头利用个人数据谋取商业利益,并提高科技巨头处理这些数据的方式的透明度。

    根据ACCC的统计,谷歌的服务涉及超过90%的澳大利亚在线广告。 ACCC 还报告称,截至 2020 年底,谷歌在澳大利亚的广告市场份额已超过 53%,就广告总收入而言,其次是 Facebook [FB:US] 28%。 2020 年 7 月,ACCC 发布了一项诉讼,对谷歌和 Facebook 处以 1000 万澳元的违规罚款,因为这两家公司在未经知情同意的情况下使用私人数据进行业务发展时误导了消费者。此外,澳大利亚还通过了一项关于 Facebook 和谷歌等数字平台的新法律,要求它们与当地媒体和出版商分享将其在新闻提要或搜索结果中的内容链接所产生的收入。

    除了澳大利亚,谷歌还面临其他国家的反垄断诉讼。土耳其敦促谷歌停止在本地搜索结果中推广自己的服务,并保护土耳其科技企业免受谷歌的垄断地位。在欧洲,谷歌因其客户信息隐私不当行为而在 2017 年支付了 27 亿美元的罚款,2018 年支付了 50 亿美元,2019 年支付了 17 亿美元。最近,韩国于今年 9 月宣布对谷歌滥用其在移动操作系统和应用程序市场的主导地位的行为处以 1.77 亿美元的罚款。

    资料来源:

    https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-09-28/google-dominance-in-australia-online-advertising-harms-business/100496898

    https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/correction-accc-alleges-google-misled-consumers-about-expanded-use-of-personal-data

    https://www.cnbc.com/2021/02/25/australia-passes-its-news-media-bargaining-code.html

    https://www.wired.com/story/google-getting-caught-in-global-antitrust-net/

    https://cn.reuters.com/article/south-korea-google-penalty-0914-idCNKBS2GA0B1

    zh_CN简体中文

Australian Antitrust Watchdog Calls for New Law to Curb Google’s Dominant Position

Request ESG Software Demo

Email must be formatted correctly
Thank you for your interest in Seneca ESG. We will be in contact shortly.

Australian Antitrust Watchdog Calls for New Law to Curb Google’s Dominant Position

Share this article

Antitrust authority Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) pointed out that Google is dominant in the Australian advertising supply chain, which hurts the interests of publishers, advertisers, and consumers, according to ABC News on September 29. ACCC accused Google of abusing its first-party data to promote adverting services and prevent itself from ad technology competition. The first-party data refers to the information that Google collects from users through their usage of Google products, like YouTube and Google Chrome. Hence, the Australian regulators call for a stricter data use rule to ban technology giants, like Google, from using personal data for business advantage and increase the transparency in the way tech giants dealing with those data.

According to ACCC’s statistics, Google’s services involved over 90% of Australian online advertisements. ACCC also reported that until the end of 2020, Google had taken over 53% of advertising market share in Australia, followed by Facebook’s [FB:US] 28% in terms of total advertising revenue. In July 2020, ACCC published an action with a breach penalty of AUD10m against Google and Facebook because both companies misled consumers when they used private data without informed consent for their business development. In addition, Australia passed a new law on digital platforms like Facebook and Google, requiring them to share the revenue generated from linking their content on news feeds or in search results with local media outlets and publishers.

Apart from Australia, Google is also facing antitrust actions in other countries. Turkey urged Google to stop promoting its own services in local search results and protect Turkish technology businesses from Google’s monopoly position. In Europe, Google paid fines of USD2.7bn in 2017, USD5bn in 2018, and USD1.7bn in 2019 due to its misconduct of customer information privacy. Most recently, South Korea announced to fine Google USD177m for its abuse of dominant position in the mobile operating system and application market in September this year.

Sources:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-09-28/google-dominance-in-australia-online-advertising-harms-business/100496898

https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/correction-accc-alleges-google-misled-consumers-about-expanded-use-of-personal-data

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/02/25/australia-passes-its-news-media-bargaining-code.html

https://www.wired.com/story/google-getting-caught-in-global-antitrust-net/

https://cn.reuters.com/article/south-korea-google-penalty-0914-idCNKBS2GA0B1

RELATED ARTICLES



en_USEnglish